Skyroad

By Skyroad

Busker, East Pier

Fog, seeping all over, blotched
the parallel West wall
making the broad Victorian walkway
even more not quite here.

Perhaps a third of the way along,
I heard it, faintly, a banjo
scampering like a little dog
some owner had let off the lead.

As I came closer where the path bent
for the last lap, inclining toward
the squat fort of a lighthouse
revolving its mirror, ruby

as a Sacred Heart,
the air breathed twangling strings,
the tune sure-footed, forgettable
part of that passing,

indelibly stamped evening.
He was standing, scarfed, thick-coated
and bearded as an Ent.
I dropped my tribute in his cap

and wanted to say more
to his gravity-haunted eyes
than ?Cold work?, to which he nodded
and said something too quiet to catch.

As I passed him on the way back
to shore, he had stopped playing
and was packing up, moving on,
in the opposite direction.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.