Advent

Something was different, besides the hard cold that crept into the bones. In that arch of uncovered window above the big Victorian shutters I noticed the light had changed to a bright anaemic orange, a kind of drained glow. Not the usual night sky then. I opened the shutters and saw that it was snowing, more thickly than I remember for years, perhaps even decades. The spear-shaped leaves of the hedge beyond the sill were wooly with snow, such liberal servings that it seems unreal, stage-set snow, as pictured HERE..

I took the camera (half covered by a plastic bag), opened the door and crumped across the virgin road to stand under a streetlight, partly to shelter my 5D, but also because the falling streetlit flakes were so mesmerising, as in the blip above (notice the lit arched window, like an Advent calendar), and also THIS ONE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.