Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

9/11 Memorial, New York

Today I was in New York. My airline stopped flying the London to New York route not long after 9/11. Previous to that, I often visited NY, sometimes 5 or 6 times a month, but I have not been back since the September 11th attack.

Today I visited the Memorial site at the World Trade Center. I wasn't quite prepared for how much it would hit me emotionally. I wasn't able to fight back the tears for much of the visit. The airline I work for lost 2 planes that day, one here at the WTC and one in the field in Pennsylvania, and we lost 17 of our fellow crew-members.

The memorial was beautifully done. These two fountain areas mark the footprint of the two towers which fell that day. The names of all the victims, including those who died at the Pentagon and in Pennsylvania, are engraved around each square. A white rose is placed by each name on their birthday. A new museum is opening this Spring.

We will never forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.