Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Memories Are Made Of This

I've been trying, at weekends, to clear out some of my old stuff now that both Daughter's have taken most of what was theirs away. Pushed deep under the bed in the spare room was a fragment of my youth.

My wonderful, tatty collection of beer mats!

I can see one advertising my first pub drink, Calypso, and my other then favourites, Pony, Babycham, Cherry B, Snowball, Tartan Bitter, Guinness and Cider (Black Velvet). Some of them have the name of the pub scribbled on them: The Tow Bar Inn, Nr Egremont, Oily Johnnies, Nr Workington and The Paul Jones, Whitehaven.

At sixteen eighteen I used to think it was cool to slip a beer mat into my handbag wherever I went. This continued at college and on a Babycham mat I have written the names of students who went to the Old Hall Inn,Morecambe to celebrate the engagement to Annette to John.

There's one for a drink called Wicked Lady, there's one lady blipper may know what that is, she is very knowledgeable about naughty drinks!

Well, the box is now ready for going out with the paper recycling, even the one for Bulmer's Cider with my zodiac sign on it. The memories will live on,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.