Lithgow Courthouse

I dunno what has been happening to my time. I was orinally supposed to be in Sydney yesterday afternoon but somehow I finished up at Lithgow instead where I decided to continue my image collection of historical public buildings. In any event an extra 24 hours have elapsed somehow. The heritage information online runs as follows:

Lithgow Courthouse was designed by Colonial Architect James Barnet and constructed in 1879 with a Victorian facade. Additions were made to the building as early as 1881. More substantial additions were made in 1908 when new buildings and a fresh façade were added. These works were designed by the Government Architect's Branch under Walter Liberty Vernon.

I can't find any reference to alterations since that time although the "Federation" treatment it would have received in 1908 looks rather more like a mid 1920s style to me with its heavy brick verandah enclosures, the lack of ornate timber trimmings, exposed rafter ends, the absence of terra cotta roof decoration and the appearance of wrought iron railings. I am really very fond of the look of this old place but I might feel less well disposed toward it if I'd ever had to contest a traffic fine or something there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.