Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

The Cloud Bar

Well another day out with the camera. This time we venture to Skegness. Him indoors wanted to visit his gun shop so I got him to drop me off at Gibralter Point . I was quite shocked to hear that the Lincolnshire Wildlife Trust can;t safe the building after the tidal serge. Last time I was here it looked like the work was well under way. The have decided that they cannot make it flood-proof so will be knocking it down and replacing it with something that would be able to withstand floods. That design should be interesting. anyway still nothing much to sea at this part of the reserve so the lovely staff recommended parking up in the beach car park and visiting the hides. It was really windy again, so I didn't think there was that much to see. How wrong I could be, went I got home I have discovered I have some very distant shots of avocets,a bird I am particularly fons of. So a visit back with the 500mm lens will be in order soon.

On the way home we decided to call at Farmer Browns for an ice cream - my throat is so sore it would have been really nice. The p,ace is only open on weekends during March, but they do now have the noticeboards for the East Coast \Nature Reserves. In the leaflet there was a photograph and brief description of the Cloud Bar . Strange place, and trust me to go when the clouds are just one complete mass. Just down the beach from the Cloud Bar was the Round and Round House, originally constructed for the Eat Coast Bathing Beauties event, this building is now used as a bird hide. I will try and put some pics on my Flickr

Nice day, was brilliant to be out and about. My cold is really starting to take cold again, I thoughty it had gone three weeks ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.