Where did Dublin go?

After all the rain there's been for the past two weeks, this morning added a new element to the mix: mist. This was what it looked like on the way to the East Link bridge as I made my way to the music session (I had to turn back on myself and take a different route from usual because of the traffic, presumably connected with the Ireland/South Africa rugby match in Croke Park). The mist lifted for a while and then came down again later. At least it was dry, which must have come as a huge relief to all the unfortunate people who've been suffering from flooding elsewhere in the country.

We had a terrific music session, and a good time across the road in the Merrion Inn afterwards, and then I headed on to Carl's place. We spent a quiet evening on the whole, ordering in food from a local Chinese and watching Gran Torino on DVD. I wouldn't rave about it. Clint was his husky self, and the young male and female support actors were excellent, but there were elements which I found unconvincing (especially what came across to me as unconvincing ad-lib dialogue in several places -- mostly in the scenes involving the street gang). Still worthy of a 4/5 rating, and I also really enjoyed Jamie Cullum's title song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.