Lad Lane with SP

Another bright, crisp day, and yet another visit to the bank this afternoon. A nice woman was pulling out of a pay-and-display space on the crowded street beside the bank and I pulled in behind here to show that I was inheriting the space. She put on her hazard lights, rolled down her window, and waved her pay-and-display ticket at me. It still had forty minutes on it, and she handed to me rather than let the time go to waste. Nice woman.

After a quick bank visit I just nipped across the road and wandered along Lad Lane with the camera. It was chilly again, my fingers went numb, my ears felt as if they were about to fall off, but I actually enjoyed the time I spent snapping away. Lad Lane is quite narrow, and is lined from end to end with mews buildings which have been mostly converted into offices. I suppose it's a bit tricky trying to get out of one of these places, and that it'd be all too easy for your car nose to be cut off by somebody passing along. At least, that's my explanation for the number of convex mirrors which are installed here. As well as a sneaky self-portrait, this one shows the rather sad backsides of the buildings which make up Fitzwilliam Street and Fitzwilliam Square.

So, it's now just after 6.00 on Friday evening and, for the first time in a great many weeks, I'm actually posting Friday's blip on the day I took it. I'm pleased about that, especially since I'm doing this despite being in the first stages of work on yet another issue of the infamous quarterly magazine I do design work for. The last one was behind schedule, and I wasn't expecting to have to produce another until the new year. But the client has other ideas, and wants the next issue to be circulated before Christmas. Next week is going to be a busy one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.