Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Return of Blue sky

My sleep pattern is still upset after the recent bout of through-the-night work, so it was 11.00 am by the time I surfaced. Up until today I'd only managed the most cursory tidy-up after Sunday's lunch (I know, procrastination is still my middle name), so after a bite of brekky I tackled what still needed to be done. The skies had been dull and uniformly grey since I woke, but now glimmers of sun began to break through, and by 2.00 pm conditions were good enough for me to venture out in search of a blip and to play a bit with my new polarising filter.

As it happened, I only got a very short while before the sun dipped too low for the filter to have any noticeable effect (how could it suddenly be this late in the year? -- only three and a half weeks until the shortest day just doesn't seem possible). As well as that, it was bitingly cold, exaggerated all the more by a brisk breeze. Still, it was good to see blue sky again, and I'm full of best intentions to spend some open-air time tomorrow again since the forecast is good.

This shot (taken through the car windscreen on the way home) may not last here. I'm heading out now to the National Concert Hall for a performance by Barry Douglas and Camerata Ireland. Last time I was there the camera batteries died and I didn't have spares with me. This time the G9's battery pack is freshly charged, so I may just get some half-decent shots pre- and post-concert. There's also a few last-leaves-of-Autumn shots in the can since this afternoon which may replace this -- which really needed to be a video anyway, because what attracted my attention to this sky was the way in which the different layers of clouds were scudding across the sky at such varying speeds.

Anyway, time to go. When I get back, even if this image survives, I plan to devote some time to commenting. I'm so far behind it isn't funny, and I'm sure I've missed some wonderful stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.