Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Shadow play

It looks like my body clock is working itself back to normal. After a couple of short-lived mid-night awakenings I surfaced for the day at 8.30 to bright sunlight shining from a clear blue sky, just like the forecast said. I was quite domestically productive until around 10.45, at which stage I grabbed the camera and went out on blip safari. I'd arranged to return some kitchen accoutrements which I'd borrowed for Sunday's lunch, but wasn't due at the drop-off house until noon, which gave me plenty of time to get fifty or so shots in for starters, including a couple of grungey close-ups.

(Actually, there's a rather nice story connected with the grungey number. I'd already taken a few shots of it and was lining up for another, squatted on the pavement at number height, when the owner came out of the house right beside me.
'Hi. This number is really interesting. I hope you don't mind if I photograph it.'
'Not at all, but what's so fascinating about an old house number?'
'Just a second, I'll take a shot and let you see ... There, what do you think?'
'Hmmmm, okay. By the way, aren't you interested in the house name above the number? Do you know what it is?'
'Eh ...'
(examining the name written in old German script). '"Drachenfels". No. What is it?'
'That's "Dragon's Rock". It's from Wagner's opera "Siegfried". It's where the hero slays the dragon. Myself and the wife are Wagner fans. We were due to go to Bayreuth last year but had to cancel because I was taken ill.'
'That's a shame. I'm into Wagner too. I was at Bayreuth last year. I saw "The Flying Dutchman".'

[At this point, the wife joins us on the pavement.]
'Hello dear. This gentleman is another Wagner fan. We should have him round some time for a chat.'
'Yes indeed, there are all too few of us around. It'd be nice to compare notes.'

At which stage she gave me their name and phone number, I promised to contact them, they went on their way, and I went off to take some more photographs.)

After handing back the kitchen stuff, having a quick chat and a coffee, and commiserating with Niall because he's been suffering from water tank problems since Monday, I went on to meet Carl for lunch. Then it was on again for another blipping session, this time around what I guess is the West Pier in Dún Laoghaire (not the one I'd usually frequent). I had great fun playing around with my new polarising filter and got some weird and wonderful shots with wildly intense colours (not showing at their best over at Picasa Web Albums). Like yesterday, the light had run its course by 3.00 pm or so, but I came home well satisfied.

It wasn't easy deciding what to actually blip. Apart from this one, the two strongest contenders were this and this (b&w, most unusually for me). All in all, I'd have to say that this was the most satisfying session yet with the new camera. Is it a bit sad, though, that blipping itself was the highlight of the day? Shouldn't it be an adjunct rather than part of the daily make-up?

EDIT: With apologies to those who have already commented, I've changed my mind and have changed today's image. The original is now here (also the first of those last two links).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.