Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Scary sky

I set out to pay my utilities bills in the local post office, but forgot that it was Pension day, which meant there was an enormous queue. So I decided to go in to town instead, spotted a quiet PO on the way and paid my bills there. It seemed like a good idea to continue in to town at that stage, so I did that, with a vague intention of doing some Christmas shopping and doing a bit of blipping. I parked in a recently refurbished car park which is actually now quite a pleasant place to go to. I was so impressed, in fact, that I decided to explore inside a bit and then got the notion to go up on the roof as a likely spot from which to get some city skyline photos. That's when I saw this scary, scary sky, only stopped long enough to blip it, and then raced back to my car, leaving the car park only ten minutes after I'd entered it. The reason? I had washing out on the line at home and wanted to rescue it from the rain. That didn't quite go according to plan, because the rain got home before I did.

The rest of the day was spent lazily until I headed out again to meet a mate for what's developed into a monthly get-together. We take it in turns to choose and book a restaurant, and it was Tom's turn this time. We couldn't get a table until 9.30, so met at 8.45 to wet our whistles. We were early getting to the restaurant, so had time for a couple more drinks there before going to our table. We ate in a place called Venu, which I wouldn't recommend (we experienced a forty-minute delay between starter and main course, and the food was really quite ordinary. It was late by the time we left there, so we dropped in to a great little wine bar which is nearby and had two very palatable bottles of wine. I got the 3.30 am Nitelink home (but got on the wrong one and had to walk a fair distance before I finally got home, which was not a pleasant experience on such a damp, cold night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.