A Tale of Three Canons

Three cameras, all Canons. The other thing these cameras all have in common is that I'm selling them.

We have a LOT of Canon compact cameras in the house at the moment - at least six by my count. That's too many.

Top Left - Canon SX280HS

I bought this in the US last year, attracted by the long zoom (having been jealous of MrsCyclops SX200 below), built in GPS for geotagging and WiFi for picture transfer.

As it turns out I've not got on with it. Whenever I wanted a compact I always ended up with the S90 (also below) because I love the RAW files it produces. I just don't like the JPEGs off the SX280. The GPS takes ages to get a signal so seldom works in practice, and WiFi I can take or leave - taking the card out and sticking it in my laptop is simple and reliable.

On to eBay it goes!

Top Right - Canon SX200 IS

I bought this for MrsCyclops quite a lot of years ago now. It has good manual control and a great zoom, and she's taken a lot of truly fabulous pictures with it. It's a little long in the tooth now, and the ISO performance falls short by modern standards.

Another one for eBay!

Bottom Left - Canon S90

I absolutely love this camera, my only reservation being that the zoom is a bit limited. When I was in Chicago last month I picked up the latest in this family, the S120. The zoom starts wider and stretches further. The noise performance is a wee bit better too, handy for underwater. So the S90 is going as well...

Bottom Right - Canon S90 in Ikelite housing

Of course to use the S90 underwater it has a matching underwater housing, good to depths of 60m. I've had some great photos with this camera underwater too, including one that is in this years BSAC calendar after winning a competition!

So the S90 and housing are for sale too - although I'll keep the wide angle lens and strobe for use with the new camera. I'll try to sell these through the dive club rather than on eBay - hopefully I'll find them a good home that way!


That will bring the house down to four Canon cameras (three compacts). MrsCyclops has a SX280HS for day to day, and an S95 for underwater. I have the S120 compact for day to day and underwater, and the Canon 60D SLR.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.