If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

A wet wet day!

So wet that there were dolphins quite few miles from the sea!

Clickychick had a reason to visit the jobber that she used when she was running the shop. This meant a trip to Carlisle, so once up there we went the extra mile or so to visit Houghton Hall Garden Centre. Being members of their garden club its always good for a free coffee.

The weather was so bad that we only ventured outside under the covered walk way and into the covered areas. As a result the opportunities for blipping were seriously reduced. However the detail on this huge water feature caught my eye. Many of their customers must have stately homes going by the size of it.

As I had given "Bernard" a bit of a heavy workout yesterday I opted to take the walking stick, as much as a visual warning to others as for any real need. Then I ended up feeling a fraud when an assistant who looked almost as old as me insisted on handling my bags of compost, wheeling the trolley out to the car and loading for me. I felt like pointing out it was my leg which had had the operation not my arms! Very kind of him never the less.

We also eyed up a number of small ornamental trees to replace a 30+ year old Malus (still only about 8 feet tall) which had been blown over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.