Augenweide91

By Augenweide

Goodbyes

Today marked the end of a lot of things. It's the last day of term so that was technically meant to be the end of my lectures but I'm behind in one module so still got at least one more to go. It was also Felix's (my flatmate) last day in the flat before he flew back to Germany. It was strange to think he'd be going for good as he'd become a very integral part of our flat and the dynamic definitely won't be the same without him. I'm really not a fan of goodbyes and usually try and make them as upbeat as possible but it's not always easy. He does live in Würzburg though so I'm sure I'll be seeing him again at some point in the not so distant future.

As well as Felix, Marie, the Secretary of the German Department had her retirement party in the evening. This was taken during her speech and I was fortunate that she was looking straight at me when I took this. She's been ever present in the department for several years and is everyone's (staff and students) first point of contact if a problem ever arises. Despite that, she's always been really bubbly and easy to talk to about anything so it'll be weird not seeing her next term. Whoever takes over will have some VERY big shoes to fill!!

After one awesome dinner that me and Shona made: Honey mustard chicken legs with roast veg on top of a spinach, chorizo, mushroom and onion base (yes it was as good as it sounds) it was off to Kasbah for Emily's birthday (not the same Emily from a few weeks ago).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.