DaveWoolmer

By DaveWoolmer

Tyre-some

Had to go and get one of my car tyres attended to after work as it has a slow puncture thanks to a fairly large looking screw. I won't mention the place names to avoid embarrassing anyone.

Sadly the tyre couldn't be repaired as where it was in would make it illegal apparently, so it cost me a new tyre (£92) which is a shame as the old one was barely worn.

Whilst I was there I thought I'd get them to change the headlight bulb that went whilst driving home last night - it all went downhill from there. Surfice to say that the 'mechanic' (and I use that term in the loosest possible sense here) struggled for some time to change the bulb, as the clearance for hands is minimal. They stormed off on several occasions, saying it couldn't be done.

Eventually it was changed but still didn't work - they suggested it may be am auto electrical issue; simply their best guess as apparently they don't have any diagnostic equipment.

When I got back home I inspected their handy work - the bulb wasn't even correctly in place and I'm not convinced whether it was, in fact, actually changed. The only upside is that I wasn't charged for their attempts.

Morals of the story:

If you want a job doing right, do it yourself!

AND

If you have car problems, go to a proper mechanic first time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.