Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

100 Happy Days: #7

Suspended from the ceiling of the gym at Broxbourne are an array of boats and oars which have been used to win races or have been used by particularly successful crews over the years.

Not sure what the story behind this old boat is, but it gives you something to contemplate while rowing/cycling/being generally energetic!

I've been rowing at Borxbourne since October, and I absolutely love it! It is a complete departure from my 9-5ish job, and in a day like today we were able to belt down the river in the warm spring sunshine, pause to get our breath back whilst watching a Herron a few meters away doing a spot of fishing, and then belt back the other way encouraged by a sudden hail storm!

The club would like to me race in the Intermediate men's crew, rather than potter around bird watching with the 'recreational rowers', but they require 2 evenings a week on the water, plus Saturday mornings and your spare days in the gym....
At the moment, my work load and jam packed weekends just doesn't accommodate that... But I'm thinking more and more that maybe they should....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.