City Boy

By kwasi

Cool!

I've been a bit challenged recently by technology. I won't bore you again with my troubles with viruses, iPads etc. except to say that today I was changing my mobile phone carrier from Orange/EE to Tesco. I'd decided a while ago but had lost my unlocking key and when I spoke to Orange to get it again they were sympathetic and said that I had got through to the wrong section but that they'd pass me to Amy in another section. As I was passed to Amy the phone line when dead, as it did the last time I phoned Orange. The time before someone went off to find something out and forgot to come back. Desperation led to me finding the email. I took everything I needed and went to the big Tesco superstore where a very fast speaking and "cool" young man (the answer to everything was "cool") took me in hand but said that he could only sell me a contract and that I'd have to take the sim card home and unlock the phone myself through iTunes. However, having signed up he said that Orange often gave odd instructions on phone unlocking. He took my phone and pressed innumerable buttons, asking me to put in passwords from time to time. I did as instructed and he handed the phone back to me, unlocked. All I have to do, he said, is wait until Tuesday and I will be with Tesco and will have my existing number. "Cool", I said.

Later when in Bruntsfield I was crossing the Meadows when I saw the perfect blip. The day was bright but brisk and cold. However, when you're young you don't feel the cold. I wondered when I saw this group of four, all of whom were emailing or texting, if they were doing so with each other rather than talking. I've occasionally texted my children when they're here for Sunday lunch and are talking to us and texting simultaneously. " We're multi-tasking", they say smugly. Now I'll say, "Cool".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.