lemonzest

By lemonzest

At the Forge

RS was making some hinges and some drawer pulls today, so I took the opportunity of taking a few shots. I chose this one because I had been trying to catch the sparks flying from the anvil. For a change I used a manual lens, an old Mamiya-Sekor 55mm f1.8 at about f11.

I had quite a choice of shots, but since I was after this kind of thing I posted it. The goats weren't very obliging although the dogs and cats were happy to pose. The furnace roared and we were surrounded by a host of other woodcutting activities, cranes flew overhead and the pleasant smell of the burning fresh branches of black alder.

R somewhat singed his beard with the blowlamp at a later stage, fortunately he only burnt himself very slightly, but nevertheless it wasn't an experience to repeat.
The metalwork now needs to be drilled and brushed before heating it again and dipping in oil to give it the right appearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.