Triumph!

It's hard to believe that, after all these years of planning and weeks of superhuman effort, I am so very nearly there!

The weather has been unhelpful but Frobisher, the Jones bothers and myself were finally able to leave the advance camp two days ago. This after being pinned down by the weather for over a week. Even then, S didn't think that it was clear enough and I eventually decided to leave him at the camp. Then the younger Jones brother twisted his ankle and his brother wanted us to turn back - turn back! At this stage! After all that we had been through to get to this point! I persuaded Frobisher to push on with me and we left them at the foot of the final face.

I suppose that this ascent has been something of an obsession with me for as long as I can remember. At least, that was the word that Frobisher used. It's a shame that he won't see the summit after this last, this final push. Maybe, if he could have experienced that overwhelming sense of achievement, he would have understood? But he will be waiting for me when I come back down. They will all be waiting for me. Perfectly preserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.