Greyhound

This is Bob - Flying Robertson was his racing name. I was working at the track when there was a problem with the hare. It stopped dead and Bob and the other four dogs (the Number Two dog had been pulled out) tore the hare to pieces. The strange thing was that none of those five dogs ever won a race again. By the following year, none of them was still racing. I took Bob on myself...
Now, you might say that the dogs never winning was just chance or that it was because the dogs worked out that the hare wasn't worth chasing. But the dogs aren't stupid. They know it isn't a real hare they're chasing. It's just something to run after. No, I think that they were ashamed of what they had done to that imitation hare. And none of them wanted to catch another one. That's what I think. Bob's a gentle dog. He just didn't want to kill anything again. Even something that wasn't alive to begin with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.