Flower Spirit

By flowerspirit

Alder Moss

December can become a busy time with preparations for Christmas dominating the month for most people. This is somewhat at odds to the rhythm of nature which makes us want to slow down and go within. No wonder it can feel stressful; the pressures of society versus our natural instinct for small-scale hibernation.

Today I spent some time in the woods, wandering, connecting and practising my tree observation skills. My work is opening out to encompass working with nature in a more Shamanic way rather than simply with flower essences and healing. So I am noticing the differences between different trees much more and it's exciting new learning. Today I met the moss that nestles on alder branches, connected with the quivering rhythm of hazel and was awed by the commanding presence of beech.

It was the perfect antidote to a week of website and book geekiness. New geekery on my website has gone live which is very exciting. The modern girl with an inclination to heal through nature must embrace html and e-marketing as readily as she embraces sycamore and oak. Not so for the herbal healers of old who would have attracted clients through the local grapevine, rather than through special events and client offers. It was no easy life for healers of 400 years ago in Europe though. They lived with the fear of being burnt or drowned under the Witchcraft Act which was still law until 1951. Heartened to learn that it's not law anymore, I can release my deep subconscious fear that I'm going to be persecuted for working with natural remedies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.