Viennese Fingers – and believe it or not I made these! My cookery skills are near non-existent, and I confess to trying to blur the ones further back, in an effort to disguise their misshapen and broken forms.

Have wanted to gain some baking confidence for years, but have usually just missed a course, or found that there's not one running this year. Heard on Friday evening that a "Buns and Bread" evening class was starting today, and there were still a few spaces left. I didn't hesitate in applying.

It was good fun, and I was relieved to find there was another bloke in the group. Perhaps I wasn't the only person not to have home economics at their school.

Despite not looking brilliant, they certainly taste good. I won't be rushing to finish them though. One benefit of making them yourself, is the discovery of just how much butter and sugar is in them - that's why they taste so good. Rationing required, as I intend to stay skinny(ish)!

In future weeks, I'm particularly looking forward to mastering the humble scone, along with soda bread, carrot cake, and numerous others on the list. You can keep yer cup cakes though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.