365 of the theindiangirl

By theindiangirl

3

I just purchased a fisheye camera lens for my phone. I am a little happy, okay a lot happy.

My first shot: 3 papier-mâché statues from Mexico. One for each kid.

I love the craftsmanship of these statues. It does remind me though of how undervalued crafts and arts are. I purchased these for far less than they are worth, and the same can be said of craftsmanship from other countries as well. One can buy them so cheaply and thus the maker makes hardly any money at all. It is a statement though really on what we value as a people.

Of course I paid a lot more for the fisheye lens than I did on the three statues. I do appreciate both technology and art (of all mediums), I feel like a lot of others have lost the value for anything that is not technology related. Take time to smell the roses people, appreciate that necklace that you are wearing, the photo in the ad, the painting in the coffee shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.