Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

Freedom Of Speech Won't Feed My Children

Evening all.

I nearly joined Twitter yesterday.

I know, I'm a miserable Luddite who has voiced his dissatisfaction with all forms of social media, ( including this one ) at various times.

But, it was a rainy Saturday afternoon and I could feel my life slipping way, I'd been out before the jet and internal combustion engine had got going, and my early feelings of peace had given way to Ennui.

So I filled the stupid forms in, started following stupid people and organisations,

(come on Mossad, why no twitter feed? imagine updates from Israeli secret service...)

and yet....it didn't feel at all right for many reasons that are purely personal and probably hypocritical.

The biggest reason though, was deep down, in the dark of my soul, I knew that Freedom of Speech does not lie within 140 characters or however many it is, and I felt suddenly monitored, controlled, observed and censored, open to attack and ridicule in a way I never feel on here....

So I stopped.

No, it's not for me.

night all



manics

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.