Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Sunrise from Gap Beach

Sunrise is at a very civilised hour now we are the other side of the equinox so not too hard to get up on a Sunday. There was a storm out to sea flashing the clouds with lightning and mist coming in from the north but the day turned out to be warm and sunny.

We drove along the beach to Smoky Cape and looked at the lighthouse and then on to South West Rocks. Back to Hat Head to eat fresh mud crabs my brother had caught in the creek, they were in a right tiz after being caught but nevertheless delicious after cooking. A wade in the creek caused a mini disaster as my car keys fell out of my pocket and remained underwater for about 30 minutes until I realised what had happened. Needless to say the remote is not working despite drying it off in rice. Lesson learned. I hope, I washed my phone earlier this year.

The drive back to Newcastle was one of storm evading. I planned multiple stops in case of hail but none eventuated and it only started thundering and lightning after I got home. The storm chasers were out but I just didn't have it in me to go out again as I have to go to Sydney for work tomorrow.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.