Camomile Lawn days

Sorry about the gap in photo posting - due to a rather nasty accident that resulted in me slamming my face into a lump of concrete. I've had two days in different hospitals having a big gash dealt with, CT scans and various assessments. Now spending a couple of days at this wonderful house overlooking the lagoon at Knysna on the east coast of the Eastern Cape - thanks to the great generosity of relatives in South Africa.

This is the view from my bedroom where I am lying with an ice pack on my face, trying to reduce the rather stupendous swelling. I'm listening to Benjamin Britten string quartets and am vividly reminded of the Camomile Lawn series on BBC TV a few years ago. Images of impending war keep coming into my head and distract me from the head pain.

If the swelling reduces and antibiotics, etc work then on Tuesday I go back to the hospital for the surgeon to work on me, fixing a number of cranial and cheek fractures and seeing if my jaw can be straightened. After that, just not sure how it will go. Extra complication: my wife tumbled down the same steps after seeing me flat out, gushing blood and broke her foot. She is now learning to use a 'moon boot' and crutches. What a disaster!

We are both so greatful to all the Harcourt-Woods who are taking great care of us and for all the supporting messages from the UK.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.