Frustrated naturalist selfie

Sorry, I had to post a photo of some of the damage from my accident in South Africa sometime. I've spared you a full- frontal and waited until the swelling and technicolor has reduced. I'm recuperating for a few days after a second spell in hospital and surgery to fix facial fractures and re-align jaw and eye socket. I realise now that I missed an opportunity to have a handsomeness implant - I'm now stuck with a rather derelict face. I think there's progress each day, but I'm really getting stir-crazy, despite the glorious surroundings. Hopefully, Monday will see the stitches out and the all-clear to fly back to Cape Town. Then it will be a case of rebooking a flight back to the UK and negotiating the airport with my wife's crutches and me setting off all the metal detectors.

It's a bit of a cliche, but I guess you only start to fully appreciate the people in another country when you are forced to slow down and have some needs. The care has been amazing, complete strangers have been so helpful and concerned and the extended family of in-laws have given us unceasing kindness and practical support. I think I'll be taking away rather more than I expected from South Africa ...and I will be back!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.