twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Train of Thought

The day started with me and Bill, the aftermath of his dinner; the ladies having legged it for the last bus, leaving us with four bottles of wine and Iris Dement, Neil Young and Ravel's Piano Concert in B# for company.

We drank, talked, drank, talked and I finally made a move at around 0215; determined to walk the 4 and a bit miles home - there's not buses direct or otherwise from Bill's to - well anywhere? So I padded off to Leith, snuck across the Walk, ducked down Jane Street, snapped a Cigs blip and padded onwards up West Bowling Green Street and onto the cyclepath at Mulberry Place and then ended up weaving through Trinity and home.

I found a pile of discarded clothes this morning at 0730, promptly got up after my pep talk about money yesterday and made coffee (strong) and booted up the laptop and got working. From bed.

Great day outside; but my fragile state meant I was happy to plod through banal work and clock up hours.

She called 12 to say she was awake; we agreed a quick coffee RV as she had to go and release G from the evil auntie in Falkirk who makes her sit at the table to eat AND use cutlery.... So fresh and bright outside; hammered the road bike up the hills; helped by a sympathetic wind behind me. Chained the bike up, took some photos, walked off to meet her, stalked her briefly cos she was lost in a world of her own and wasn't expecting to see me but passed by her four times in 200 yards...! Anyway, brief chat, debrief of last night, planned the week ahead.

I went off in search of Cigs blips, then home for a couple more hours work.. I need to get debt into some sort of order so no matter how sunny it is, it needs done. Besides, next Sunday is Glenshee hills....! Txt Barry, he's coming too. Which I'm happy about. He'll bring another dimension to the day and I know he needs the company after his recent issues.

So darkness falls, I have Spanish bean stew to make, a bath to run, washing up to do then catch up on mind numbing TV for a couple of hours....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.