Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

Inverness College, and there's been a very large amount of scaffolding around the chimney for a while. It'll be there a while longer. During some gales, the chimney started swaying around. The fixing bolts at the concrete base, had broken the concrete around them. So some additional sturdy support was required... and pronto! Options as to how to sort it, are being considered...

Received this refurbished camera today. Don't know why it's been refurbished, possibly following a recall for this model - "due to a problem that was discovered with the camera's power systems. The flaw would cause the system to cease powering on, both when running on battery or wall outlet power."

Anyhow, this one looks great, and has only taken 305 pictures. The main reason for buying it (and two lenses some time later), is that I'm doing the photos for a friend's wedding. She knows me too well, and didn't ask me to do this - I'd have refused - she told me I'm doing it! My protestations fell on deaf ears...

Existing DSLR's, Nikon D200 and D40, whilst great in some respects, aren't that good in low light. The venue will be fairly dim. The likes of a Nikon D3 or D700 would be ideal, but are way, way beyond consideration. D300 would be the next choice, but that's still far too much. The D5000's sensor has very similar performance to the D300, and in operation it's very similar to the D40. So that's what I've gone for.

Now have to save up for those lenses...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.