Kotuku

Five months after losing Blaze, when I'd figured things were pretty stable and I was coping, I cracked this morning and couldn't face the world.

I hid out at home with a box of tissues. Of course this would be the day that the painters arrived to waterblast my roof! But never mind, maybe it helps to feel sorry for yourself with the accompaniment of thunder from above!

This afternoon a friend arrived to drag me out of my doldrums and cart me off to a late lunch at the Red Barn. While we were there we had a very rare visit from a kotuku (New Zealand's native Great White Egret).

I guess there is a message in his visit somewhere - I'm just not up for deciphering what it is.

I don't know why this came out so dark but I like the contrasts it creates and the way the ducks in the background fade into it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.