hgpayne

By hgpayne

Living History

I had the pleasure of having a couple of my old friends from my Air Force days come by for a visit. I hadn't seen them for over 20 years so it was great getting together. I played tour guide and we went to a few choice spots in San Diego. We only had about half a day, so we made the most of it.

I took a LOT of photos so the choice of what to blip was hard. Since I don't think I've ever posted a portrait yet, and certainly not one of a stranger, I thought perhaps this should be the day.

I never caught the gentleman's name. He was sitting in front of the Historic Point Loma Lighthouse -- part of the museum. I believe he said "the year is 1887" (or thereabouts). After talking to him about the history of the lighthouses along the coast and the town in general, he said if we had any questions, just ask. We next toured the lighthouse (it doesn't take long) and came back to ask our question: "Is the spiral staircase original equipment, or is it a replacement, made out of durable steel because of all the tourists going up and down?" Sadly, he didn't know the answer, but guessed it was original, and then told us how each lighthouse was brought to each location by ship as a kit and assembled on the spot by the ships crew. That's why all the lighthouses up the California coast look the same -- maybe some are slightly larger, but basically the same. Another cool fact, but still not the answer to our question. He said he would research it and know the answer on our next visit. Sadly my friends had to go back home, but I now have an annual pass to Cabrillo National Monument so I'l be back to ask that question. Maybe then I'll post a photo of the lighthouse instead of just a guy in a period costume out front.

BTW, he could play that squeezebox.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.