Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Three ages of man

With a cold wind in my face today I walked along the shoreline with my eyes firmly on the ground.
These are three bits and pieces that caught my eye, all fashioned by man but at very different times.

At top left is a small piece of burnt stone from the Iron Age. It is from a Pictish shell midden that has been dated to 350 to 900 AD. The burnt stone once formed part of a fire pit in which people boiled mussels that they had collected from the estuary.

At top right is a shard of Victorian pottery decorated with a rather fine Scottish building. Does anyone recognise the building?

At the bottom is an object from our own, plastic, age. Any guesses as to what it might be? I'll let you know what I think it is tomorrow,

I can't help thinking that future archaeologists are going to get pretty bored with the mountains of plastic crap that we produce!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.