Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Mermaids Cave

I was chatting to Hobbs the other day and we were both surprised to discover that he'd never heard of Mermaids Cave.
It's only a few kilometres from Blackheath and a steep walk down steps which you can see in the right quarter.
I had promised him a waterfall, but there was only a trickle.
Still, it's a very beautiful spot, and I don't think he was disappointed.
It was used as a location for the film 'Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome' and the section between the rocks was known as 'the crack in the earth'.
A lot of very fit people would have been needed to cart the cameras, lighting etc up and down every day.

Anyway, Hobbs was hankering after a waterfall, so it was my turn for a surprise as he took me to Katoomba Cascades.
If I'd realised the rain was going to hold off I would have taken a tripod.
I shall return.
The cascades were very impressive and falling, cascading even, at what I think would have been close to full strength.
Hobbs was very happy and I can guarantee his blip today will be a stunner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.