Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

The Flower Show!

Well I'm sorry if you don't agree but I've just been through 156 images we took at the Melbourne International Flower Show today and I am beside myself. Which of these image is going to be 'THE ONE'!!! Honestly this blipping business can be just so stressful sometimes.

In the end I chose an image that I thought would give my blipper friends, I believe, a feeling that they were in the room with me. YOU MUST VIEW THIS BLIP IN LARGE!

Yes, we were raring to go and two of the first people through the gate. We were so happy we made the effort to arrive at opening time, because within an hour at the most, it was "wall to wall" people. Our favourite part of the show were the exhibits within the Exhibitiion building itself. It's such an amazing building and the "old fashioned" flowers really seemed to be at one in that environment.

I have to confess I was totally overwhelmed when I walked through the front doors of the Melbourne Exhibition Centre. It is a truly magnificent building and a wonderful backdrop for the Flower Show. There were flowers everywhere and some of the most magnificent displays you could ever imagine. I have obviously had to make a choice but thankfully for our Blipfolio I have been able to post a selection of images that I hope you will take the time to enjoy and if you have the time, please view in Large.

I'm going to let you in on a secret! My Mum and Dad loved roses and my Dad in fact used to grow prize winning roses in Perth WA. He won many Royal Easter Shows with his prize blooms. I was very emotional when I found myself amidst the most stunning display of roses I have ever seen. Everything from the famous David Austin roses to the more recent varieties and in particular the Golden Jubilee Rose dedicated to our SAS Servicemen and the RSL Rose that was launched this morning at the Flower Show.

It was a very emotive experience for us and one we hope to repeat many times in the future. If you're a Blipper and you live anywhere near Melbourne, please make the effort to go over the next three days.

PS - The gown on the left of the Blip Image is the one that Lisa McCune will be wearing when she taken on her role in the musical - The King and I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.