Aggression

There are a couple of swans on the local lake determined to see off all comers. This cob is chasing off another just out of shot. I was looking at one duck bobbing about, only to see that it was the head of a springer spaniel far out in the middle of the lake, ignoring its owner's whistle. The lake is about a quarter of a mile long and the dog swam the whole length of it, pursued by a flotilla of swans and geese. Then it turned and swam the whole length back. It must have been in the water 20 minutes and in no particular hurry to get out. It's disappointing seeing a working dog like this that isn't trained. At the very least, a dog should come to you when it's called or whistled. Pippa is timid of the swans when they're in this mood, but at least she sat and waited higher up the bank while I stood on the lakeside.

I like the grace of swans in flight and the movement of their wings. I think that's what's drawing me back to them so much of late, that and the memory of seeing the whooper swans on the Tweed earlier this month.

A lot of stuff to shift now before the weekend after two days of pretty intensive study of the hardware. I'm writing a column on fishing and photography, not always the most comfortable of bedfellows. But just occasionally it all comes together. One of my favourites from last year. I can't wait to get back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.