Slimier and Slimier

Today was another one of my fortnightly visits to Longshaw Estate to record the fungi there. I made an early start to look for migrant birds further upstream, still a little early for many but lots of Meadow Pipits were in evidence, and it was lovely to see a pair of Stonechat scolding in the bracken.
I met up with the others for a bacon sandwich at Grindleford Caff before setting off in search of fungi. At this time of year, the main things are crusts and tiny cup fungi which take a lot of finding, but whilst homing in on those, we found more types of Slime Mould - not part of the Fungus Kingdom, but adopted by mycologists. The one I posted 2 weeks ago was much in evidence and at the next stage of its development. We've not put a name to this one yet, but I thought it was a rather attractive specimen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.