Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Father & Child

Susan, my next-door neighbour, has been in hospital now for several weeks. She contracted pneumonia and one of the hospital viruses while in a nursing home following surgery, and was rushed back to St James's, seriously ill. Poor thing, if she wasn't such a fighter, we might well have lost her. As it was, she fought back and sounded much improved when I spoke to her yesterday. So today was the day to pay her a visit.

While I waited for visiting time I spent a while around Meath Street, Francis Street and Thomas Street in Dublin's Liberties, pretty confident that I'd come away with at least one decent image. It was wet, dull, miserable day, but I thoroughly enjoyed my photo session. This time, there really wasn't any contest when it came to choosing today's blip. This is a crop of just a tiny portion of the original photograph, since I was a long way from this pair who were coming towards me along Thomas Street. Their interaction was so powerful that I just knew I'd catch a blip-worthy moment.

I spent an hour afterwards with Suaan. She was in great form, and has been told that she'll be moved to a nursing home on Friday (hopefully she won't contract pneumonia this time).

----------------
More photos from today are over at Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.