Cully

By Cully

Strooping delicious

These Stroop waffels were a gift from the two girls from Hungry Birds in Amsterdam. They have recently set up the company doing food tours around the markets of Amsterdam and it's a real treat. How often do you get oysters and prosecco for breakfast followed by goose sausage whilst being serenaded my a hurdy gurdy man? another ten or so stalls later we finished the tour with raw herring, or fried cod for the less adventurous, oh and then a surprise hot drink and apple tart while we said our goodbyes and I collected my presents, waffels, biscuits and heart shaped spoons.

The Stroop waffels were for me to take home and share with the boy. We had one each, then I had another and then another.

If you see these in this country make sure you put them over a hot drink to melt the caramel and if you go to Amsterdam make sure you meet up with Zosia and Esther, they won't leave you till you are stuffed to the brim.

Oh and happy birthday to the dodger, I'll be round as soon as I sort you out a present, or visit the whiskey aisle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.