A Simpler Time

This morning when I saw (smile moment) this old wooden garage with the rusted hoop on it I was instantly transported back to a simpler time, a simpler life …when a pair of converse and a basketball in this driveway could have been all I needed from sunrise to sunset.

One of the great decisions of my life was when I accepted a basketball coaching opportunity fifteen years ago. I had a short run in my twenties but had drifted away from it because of my musician’s lifestyle. Life on the road was really not an asset. But fifteen years ago, as a school teacher with a family, I was primed for a return. The difference this time was that I found I had a passion for it that I didn’t have in my twenties.

Now many seasons, many games, many teams, and many players later, as I start with yet another group of youngsters I’m overwhelmingly blessed that I get a chance to help shape their lives through the discipline of a great sport.

The years of teaching have greatly influenced my methodology and the experiences of teams past can’t help but have become a part of my fabric.

The game still has a romantic hold over me, I’ll admit that, It first touched my heart back in my preteen years and amazingly over time it has never lost it’s simple mystique. I can only say that about a few things, but fortunately I can say it!

Pray on…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.