Ootheca Building

New Zealand praying mantis, Orthodera novaezealandiae.

Today I saw a female praying mantis climbing a pole. Her abdomen was so large I suspected she might be ready to lay her eggs, so I kept returning to see what she was doing. She chose a spot near the top of the pole, just below where my laundry line is tied. Over the next three hours or so she worked at building the egg case (ootheca) and laying her eggs. She didn't mind my camera going in close.

I was intrigued by the little leg-like appendages that were constantly on the move, perhaps checking the progress. The building material oozed out bubbly and wet, but it soon became rigid in the air, complete with bubbles.

She began in sunshine, but clouds soon formed over the mountains and the light progressively worsened. The later shots I took are too grainy to use because of the high ISO setting required. It was almost dusk when she finished.

This has been exciting for me as I have always hoped to see it happening.

More detail in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.