Sturgeon’s Merry-Go-Round

When I was a young child growing up in Golden Bay going to the beach or the A&P Show was an opportunity to ride on the wonderful merry-go-round. It was the only fairground ride I saw as a child. It was so exciting! The horses were a bit scary, especially if the boys around you made their horses buck. In my younger days I preferred the “tractor seat” just behind the front white horse, but I never rode in the boat because that was for babies.

And here it was, still turning, at the local A&P Show today, more than 65 years later!

There seemed to be a good turnout. I won first and second in the nature category of the photo competition with Waring Waxeyes and My Precious, which was nice, but when I went to collect my prizes I was congratulated by the Show President. Made my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.