A night out

First up - thank you to everyone for your nice comments on yesterday's blip. It made the Spotlight page so I'm feeling tremendously chuffed.

Tonight I'm at an OU conference in Bristol. The last time I attended an overnight conference it got rather messy. Not me, I hasten to add - but some others took strong liquor I understand. I'm sure that this one will be far more genteel. The gig starts tonight but I'm not "working" until 14:05 tomorrow - I'm here now because I was working locally yesterday and today.

I had a mooch when I arrived and called in a shop for some supplies. At the counter the guy asked where I was from and when I told him he launched into telling me about his upbringing in Stretford and how he struggled with the Bristolian accent (he suggested that whatever anyone asked for he always heard it as "cider"). When I left this large Asian man said "See you later brother" and I thought how lovely it is that we can have that kind of connection based on how we speak.

I then continued my mooch and came across this inviting looking building at the bottom of the hill and over looking the river. I don't know what this sort of place does or sells but I have a feeling I might be sliding out of here to find out a little later. It looks old and I like history.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.