Lots of room in the pub

A dull, drizzly, dismal day was relieved by one of our occasional 'special' music sessions -- a complete performance on DVD of Verdi's opera Falstaff. The production dates from 1999, a version starring Bryn Terfel, directed by Graham Vick to mark the re-opening of the refurbished Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. All wonderfully colourful and hugely enjoyable: just the ticket to put us all in festive mood.

Going back out to the damp was a right downer, so when I got home I decided to grab my brolly, brave the elements and walk to a pub up the road for a moment's repose in a cosy environment. The pub was surprisingly under-populated, so I had no trouble finding somewhere to sit. I had this spot all to myself apart from the very small man perched in the far corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.