Paperdoll Debris

By jesafly

Sitting Pretty

We had our now regular Friday walk yesterday, this time in Cornwall Park, where I was rather taken with this chook sitting pretty on the edge of a paddock otherwise full of sheep.

One thing lead to another & we ended up talking politics. Apparently I am a 'bleeding heart liberal'. Well there're worse things one could be called. Basically we agree, accept on one score: I do not think that competitive stomping on others' fingers is 'human nature', & even if it were I do not think that is an adequate excuse for not working to change the way things are when we can both see and do both agree that the way things are is not good for either people or the planet. I find it frustrating that saying there must be a better way, a different & new way to do things because what we're doing isn't working, is seen as airy-fairy, idealist*, impractical fantasy.

*Idealism is starting from an idea & trying to force the material (physical, real) world to conform to the idea. I consider myself a Materialist in that I start from observation of the material world and determine my attitudes & actions in response to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.