I can see you!

The weather was wonderful today allbiet a bit windy so I decided to make my first trip this year to the old fort at Shoreham Harbour.
I love this place as it is usually peaceful and quiet and the walls are alive with these European Wall lizards Podarcis muraliswhich I have blipped a couple of times before.
All the lizards were busy sunning themselves on stones and the brickwork of the walls, but they disappeared rapidly as soon as they saw any movement. It is strange they are so skitty this time of year, I don't seem to remember them so jumpy in the autumn when I last saw them!
They were also much more muted in colour than I remember, I wonder if they need to moult to show off the beautiful vibrant greens and browns that adorn their scales in the summer.
After leaving the fort, I walked a little way along the beach, and found loads more lizards sitting on the walls of the houses that back onto the beach.
So today's offering is one little fella emerging from his hidey hole in a lump of concrete......I love his little face!
Off to Iping common tomorrow if the weather is still OK and just maybe to Lavington common to look for the elusive sand lizard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.