weewilkie

By weewilkie

On the wings of some desire.

Last night I dreamed about you - Emmylou Harris

Today is my birthday, and I took this photo while out on a lovely birthday walk with the kids. For this birthday blip I'm going to indulge myself in a wee bit of navel gazing. You have been warned !

The utterly heavenly song by Emmylou breaks my heart each time I listen to it. It has so much yearning, such heartache, acres of impossibility of human desire. And the wings of my own desire is what I want to talk about.

Since becoming single four years ago my heart has flown after impossibility after impossibility after blind hope. None has been successful. In my darker moments I wonder about the shape of this desire that has me reaching out for impossibilities. Are the women I desire just phantoms I use to haunt my loneliness? Is the very impossibility of my desire becoming a reality why I do it? That I'm actually chasing after women that I know will never happen. Is it a sign that I'm not really ready for another relationship?

I don't think it is. I miss having that certain someone to share the day with. That intimacy both physical and spiritual. I think my problem is that I beat these wings of desire too much. It leaves only the gusts of my want pushing away the very person I want to come closer. I can't hear the person over these whoop-whoop-whoops of desire.  I leave no room for gentle drifting together.
This needs to change. Right now there is a woman I desire.  I feel I have so much to give. That I've a good few lives left in me. But riding on the wings of some desire I circle my life like an eagle miles high. Soaring, wing wide, in dizzying circles as the landscape of the day moves unclaimed far below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.