23 hours

Something missing today. Oh well. Happens every year.

In some ways a very good day. Rewarding.

It was nice to read some very positive articles in the newspapers about the referendum in September. By positive I mean balanced and intelligent. Not even rare up until now - virtually non existent.

I suspect they've seen how public opinion is moving, and how their sales are falling off a cliff.

I was quoted in a 4 page article in Libération (one of the main French dailies) so I was chuffed about that. I'd gone over to Edinburgh to meet the journalist, so nice that she used a bit of the interview.

I cycled 20km in truly horrible weather. Wind, drizzle, foggy & cold. I'd done the same yesterday, so hats off to myself for determination and fitness.

Then there's the Blip. My son's offering to his mum. After we split up 14 years ago we worked hard to make sure he continued to have a secure and meaningful relationship with both of us. It wasn't always easy, and it isn't perfect, but what is?

As for my mum (whom I had a secure but difficult relationship with), I decided the best way to thank her is to have a good day and think positively about my childhood. I'll visit another time. She doesn't know who I am, so Mothers' Day isn't a big event for her. Sad, but the reality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.