Moments

By togrrrl

Towards the unknown

Amid the festivities at my company Christmas party Friday night, a good friend of mine told me she had recently been diagnosed with breast cancer. She's had it removed and is now cancer free but she starts chemo this week and then has to endure radiation. Her chances are pretty good.

She's the sunniest, lovliest person you can imagine and her outward face, and that of her partner is optimistic, brave and stoic.

We were at a party at their house a couple of months ago, just after she found out and there wasn't a hint that anything was amiss. Instead, I bored them with my small problems.

Maybe hearing me blabber on was a distraction for them, but I feel slightly ashamed that I regularly lose perspective on how good my life actually is and get anxious and fearful when really, everything is alright. Nothing life threatening or life changing on the horizon right at the moment.

I always figure that no one gets to be 40 without some major disappointment or trauma. Whatever has happened in my life has ultimately helped me to be stronger and wiser (I hope) -- and to appreciate the good things that happen everyday.

This shadown of stairs symbolizes our journey into mystery. Whether its traumatic or wonderful, we don't know what's ahead of us.

I will do my best to be a good friend to her through this. I'm thinking making some leek broth may be a good start since she's a vegetarian.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.