I Love Maps

I have not always been a map collector. It has been an acquired love and the skill in interpreting them has had to be honed over the 20 years living with His Lordship.
Before that, I was in the company of someone who had the atlas of Great Britain not to mention the entire railway timetable embedded in his brain, and I could afford to relax.

Not so with the artistic Lord, who steers by the magnetic poles: you want to go to Elgin, point the car north, you want Portsmouth, point south, Glasgow, west, and so forth.
It was up to my learning map reading skills in order to fine tune us.
Step up to the plate I did with only a few glitches and even fewer times when I had to turn the map, girl like, upside down to make sense of the directions.

A very notable public failure occurred several years ago in the company of Berkeleyblipper and Oilman while touring Skye with a meal booked one night at the famous Three Chimneys restaurant near Uig.

What I failed to grasp then was that there are 2 Uigs in Skye ( there may be more) and as luck would have it, I directed HL to the wrong one, meaning that we had to backtrack at 70 mph to the correct one which happened to be very close to the B&B we were staying at, and which I had booked months before for that very reason of proximity. Unfortunately in the intervening months I had forgotten.

I was found wanting on that occasion and have yet to live it down.

These maps are for our trip to the Hebrides at the end of May.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.