Sheppitsgal

By Sheppitsgal

A day off

I've got the day off work today. Beryl was still staying with us and I thought it would be unfair to throw her out at the crack of dawn so that we could go to work. Although, she probably wished she'd gone home yesterday, as Alan's alarms went off at 4am for his 5am start!

Beryl went home at about 11.15am and I went out to go to the shop and also get a bit of fresh air, as we'd basically stayed in all weekend. Caught the bus to the supermarket and, when I came home I got off a few stops early, so that I could get a bit of walking in. I usually walk to and from work each day, and notice when I don't do it - wish I'd walked to the shop, rather than when carrying bags on the way back though!

Getting off early meant that I approached home from a different direction and passed the school that is now at the back of our house - pictured here. When we bought the house, there was a field at the back. This was owned by the council, but not used for anything. At one point, a rugby club wanted to build on it, which I would not have minded AT ALL - rugby legs of a Sunday morning, mmm - but lots of neighbours complained about losing their 'common space'. Anyway, a couple of years ago, 'Building Schools for the Future' came along and built this primary school. It doesn't affect us, as we have normally left for work when the kiddies arrive, and they have gone home before we get back. Plus, the school playground and garden is at the back of us, so we're not really overlooked by the buildings. At any rate, it's a vast improvement over the 'travellers' that used to take up residence when the field was empty!

Early blip today, as I am off to slob on the sofa, wearing pyjamas, eating bonbons and alternating between reading trashy books and watching trashy TV. Ain't nobody needs to see a photo of that!


NB - I know it's mostly a picture of grass, but I thought it would be unwise to go and take a close-up photo of a primary school!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.